David Marples

David Marples

Football writer

Booking enquiry
David Marples - author tools

Available for

Commission a book, Educational, General enquiry, Talk, Workshop


Age 11 to 14, Further Education, Adult


Non-Fiction, Sport

Book types

Non-fiction for adults


I am both an experienced English teacher to 11-18 year olds and a football writer, writing a column for the official Nottingham Forest matchday programme, co-producing an award nominated football fanzine and writing football book reviews for an award nominated football website. 

My debut book was published in September 2018 - 'The History Boys: Thirty Iconic Goals in the History of Nottingham Forest'. The book comprises thirty chapters, each celebrating a special goal/player and featuring exclusive interviews with the subjects. 

Owing to my profession as an English teacher, I have extensive experience of visiting a variety of schools and working with students to produce writing using football - or any sport - as a stimulus. I have catered writing sessions to various English language examination specifications. 

I am also experienced in speaking to audiences about writing having spent time appearing in the studio as a pundit for BBC Radio Notts' football show and contributing to various football podcasts. 

Books by David Marples

I am the author of The History Boys: Thirty Iconic Nottingham Forest Goals. I also write for the official Nottingham Forest match day programme, co-produce the award nominated football fanzine and contribute to a variety of football websites.

The History Boys: 30 Iconic Goals in the History of Nottingham Forest

The History Boys: 30 Iconic Goals in the History of Nottingham Forest

The History Boys celebrates 30 iconic goals and players in the illustrious history of Nottingham Forest. Featuring exclusive interviews and detailed career profiles, it delves deep into the club's defining moments, which echo down through history and resonate with each generation of Forest fans. Goals don't just change games of football, they change lives - not only of those who scored them, but also of those who witnessed them. Here are the stories of goalscorers who shaped the very fabric of Forest - from the 1959 FA Cup-winning team, through the miracle years of European domination to the present day. Club legends such as Ian Storey-Moore, Frank Clark, Colin Barrett, John Robertson, Ian Bowyer, John McGovern, Steve Chettle, Brian Rice, John Metgod and Wes Morgan look back on career-defining moments, offering insightful analysis and commentary in this celebratory stroll down Memory Lane. 


David Marples - first image