Available for

Commission, Educational, General enquiry, Interview, Reading, Workshop

Audiences

Age 3 to 5

Genres

Picture book

Book types

Picture book

Details

Hello, my name is Paula Bowles. I am available as a visiting illustrator to your school, venue, festival or bookshop. I'm experienced in events for years Reception - Year 2, doing assemblies and classroom activities based on my books. 

I usually discuss the role of authors and illustrators with the children, read the story, have a Q&A, do a 'live' drawing/painting, do a collaborative drawing (with the children giving me directions) and then set an activity for the children to go to their classrooms to complete. I can then visit each class and give encouragement and feedback.

During my SUPERKITTY visits, the children love drawing their own 'superhero animals' and making up their own stories. I also have Superkitty activity sheets that can be photocopied. The children also love it if I dress up and do some simple face painting too!


​I'm based in Bristol but happy to travel, and tailor my visit based on your school's needs.

 

"Paula’s visit to Filton Avenue Primary School was really fun and inspirational! She wore Superkitty clothes and gave a fabulous art display that had the children totally engaged. The children loved inventing their own Superheroes to add to the display. We now have many budding illustrators. Thank you, Paula, for a lovely day!!"

Lydia Trapnell, Reading Recovery Teacher, Filton Avenue Primary School.

 

Biog:

I grew up in Hertfordshire with a house full of animals, and always loved drawing, reading and playing in my imagination, so I studied illustration at Falmouth College of Arts and became an illustrator. 

Now I live in Bristol, where I have worked as an illustrator for over 10 years. I used to work in a preschool, where I got to run around pretending to be a crocodile, went on Bear Hunts and made play-dough cakes, which was good fun, but now I'm very excited to be working on books with Simon & Schuster and Nosy Crow. 

As well as drawing, I love getting out of the city for long walks and cycle trips in the fresh air, snuggled indoors with a good book, discovering new music, and dancing the Lindy hop. Oh, and I once learned to walk the tightrope!

Books by Paula Bowles

978-1471175091
Superkitty

Superkitty

Kitty is fed up of answering phones at the Sensational Superhero Agency and dreams of catching criminals with the superhero gang. But they ALWAYS leave her behind! Then a call comes in about a stolen dinosaur bone . . . and Kitty takes matters into her own paws, following the superheroes in their pursuit of devious criminal Nefarious Norman! Will she save the day and prove that small is MIGHTY? Join Kitty and the gang in this energetic picture book about believing in your own abilities, not judging a book by its cover . . . and girl power! Perfect for fans of Shifty McGifty and Ten Little Superheroes. 
978-1788002738
Sammy Claws the Christmas Cat

Sammy Claws the Christmas Cat

A fabulously festive tale about a sleepy cat who saves Christmas - pawsitively purrfect for getting little ones excited for Christmas... Sammy Claws, Santa's cuddly pet cat, will sleep anywhere! Snoozing in a box on Christmas Eve, Sammy finds himself wrapped up as a Christmas parcel and bundled onto the sleigh with the other presents. How will Sammy escape? And how will he save the presents from two robbers with plans to steal them all away...? 

Photos

Paula Bowles - first image
Paula Bowles - second image
Paula Bowles - second image

Keywords

BOWLES CATS CHRISTMAS ILLUSTRATION ILLUSTRATOR PAULA PICTUREBOOK SCHOOLS SUPERHERO SUPERHEROES