Zehra Hicks

Zehra Hicks

Children's author, Illustrator

http://www.zehrahicks.com
zehra@zehrahicks.com
07931520739
Booking enquiry
Zehra Hicks - author tools

Available for

Commission a book, Interview, Talk, Workshop

Audiences

Age 3 to 5, Age 5 to 7, Age 7 to 11, Age 16 to 18+, Further Education, University, Adult

Book types

Picture book

Awards

  • 'Read it Again!' Cambridgeshire Children's Picture Book Award 2012 - Shortlist
  • Heart of Hawick Children's Picture Book Award 2012 - Winner
  • Waterstones Children's Book Prize 2012 - Longlist
  • Kate Greenaway Medal 2016 - Nominated
  • Teach Primary Book Awards 2018 (Shortlist)
  • Nottingham Children's Book Award 2018 (Shortlist)

Details

I am booked for World Book Day 2020 (5th March) but I have other dates available that week and the weeks before and after.

I love visiting schools, it’s one of the best parts of my job - to inspire children and encourage creativity through drawing and writing. As well as being very active doing talks and workshops in schools, I run creative after-school Illustration Clubs for KS1 and KS2 to help children gain confidence in drawing, developing characters and developing engaging stories and comics which gives them an essential creative outlet outside the school curriculum. 

I can run workshops from Nursery up to Y6, but I can also visit secondary schools, 6th Form colleges, libraries and literary festivals. I am a part-time illustration tutor at Chelsea College of Arts and Putney School of Art and Design on their Book Illustration courses. I'm very happy to do assemblies and talks too. I've even been on Channel 5 news to talk about the importance of reading at bedtime, so I'm certainly not phased by speaking to a crowd!

Workshops can be catered to individual class needs, usually in class-sized groups. For Reception and Y1, after reading some of my books and Q&As, we usually do a creative drawing session which helps them explore their imagination. From Y2-Y6 we can look more into character creation, planning a story using methods I use, or making a mini comic, all of which can be developed into longer stories using words and pictures if time allows. For the older classes I can also show how a book dummy is made and bring in my first sketches and show how they developed into published stories so they can see and understand the process.

"A HUGE thank you for coming to PGP. You were amazing and pitched each workshop perfectly for the year groups. You’ve received lots of wonderful feedback from other staff members and the books are fab!"
Hannah Patton, Head of English, Parsons Green Prep, London

"Zehra came to Horsham to work with a group of thirty able writers from local schools. The children were fascinated by the process of producing a picture book story for younger children. Zehra’s ideas and drawings were an inspiration to them. They planned, and started to create, their own picture books, which they were keen to take home to finish. I would thoroughly recommend a visit from Zehra."
Vee Willis, North Heath School, Horsham, Sussex

“Our children enjoyed planning stories with Zehra and it lead to the children enthusiastically writing their own stories. Some of our reluctant boy writers were most inspired as they were enthused by the idea of planning their work through drawings.”
Maureen Basford, Abbots Ripton Primary School, Cambridgeshire


“Zehra delighted the pupils in Reception, Year 1 and 2 with her wonderful illustrations, fantastic stories and inspirational ideas to get them started on writing their own stories.”
Anisa Lewis, Surbiton High Boys’ Preparatory School, London

"Year 1 loved Zehra's books and the classes had lots of questions to ask her about how she wrote and illustrated her stories. Her enthusiastic manner inspired the children to develop their own ideas and they learnt about the importance of drafting in the process of authorship. An exciting and valuable learning experience!"
Helen Vidal, Stamford Green Primary School, Surrey

I live just outside London in Epsom in Surrey, and I'd be happy to do events within 100 miles. I am also very happy to do signings either over lunch or after the event. For further information including my fees, please email me above.

Books by Zehra Hicks

I have written and illustrated seven books and I'm working on three more. My new books are Pug Hug which comes out in February 2020 and The Problem With Problems is my first book I've illustrated with an author, which comes out on World Book Day 2020, written by Rachel Rooney and illustrated by me.

9781444949971
Pug Hug

Pug Hug

Pug is desperate for a hug. But however hard he tries to hug the other animals, he can't get a hug from anyone! Cat doesn't like hugs, Rabbit is too busy munching carrots and hamster is just too quick! Maybe Croc will give Pug a hug . . . or does he have other ideas?! A sweet and funny tale about finding the perfect hug for Pug! 
9781783448715
The Problem With Problems

The Problem With Problems

Have you ever met a Problem? They come in all shapes and sizes, and can pop up at the most inconvenient times. But you should know some things about them that will help you make them disappear... This one-of-a-kind picture book will help little ones and grown-ups alike deal with their pesky problems, from award-winning children's poet Rachel Rooney and Macmillan Prize commended illustrator Zehra Hicks. For fans of Ed Vere and Kes Gray. 
978-1509814176
Giraffe and Frog

Giraffe and Frog

A bold, funny book about friendship and (not) listening. Giraffe and Frog are going to the beach . . . but where is it, again? Giraffe is convinced of the route and sets off confidently, striding ahead of Frog . . . but when they arrive, Frog knows that's not the beach! Where's the water? Where's the sand? Can they EVER find the right way? Giraffe and Frog is a hilarious summertime caper that children will love, complete with Zehra Hicks' trademark fresh, fizzing, carefree illustrations. It will strike a particular chord with anyone who's ever argued with a friend - especially about directions! 
978-1447286653
Flying Lemurs

Flying Lemurs

A funny, reassuring story about overcoming fears and discovering hidden talents. Everyone in the lemur family is good at jumping - even Grandma, whose speciality is being shot from a cannon. Everyone, that is, except the littlest lemur. He just can't do it, no matter how hard he tries. But there are so many jumps to choose from, surely he will manage one, and be able to take his rightful place on stage with the rest of the troupe? Flying Lemurs is a charming, comic story for would-be acrobats everywhere. Colourful, bold, and bursting with energy, this is visual storytelling at its best from the talented author/illustrator Zehra Hicks. You'll be rooting for the little lemur from the start as he gradually overcomes his fears and finds his true calling in style. 
978-1447279624
All Mine!

All Mine!

In this bold, anarchic story, poor Mouse is just about to tuck into a sandwich, when in swoops Seagull and gobbles it up. Mouse's crisps aren't safe either . . . what a greedy and ill-mannered bird he is! But Mouse has a fiendish trick up his sleeve, which just might cure Seagull of his thieving ways. A brilliantly funny cautionary tale; the strong visual narrative and energetic dialogue will make it a sure-fire hit at story time. With striking, brightly coloured artwork and hilarious slapstick humour, this delicious comic caper is a delight. 
978-0230748583

The Girl Who Loved Wellies

(Now out of print) Snug slippers, terrific trainers or the perfect pair of party shoes? NO! It's wellies that Molly loves. And she loves them so much that she never takes them off. Ever. On the beach, in the bath and even in bed, Molly and her wellies are inseparable and NOTHING'S going to change that ...or is it? A brilliant new book from the creator of THE BOY WHO HATED TOOTHBRUSHES. 
978-0230748415

The Boy Who Hated Toothbrushes

(Now out of print) Billy hates toothbrushes. He never cleans his teeth - not when there's so much else to do. But Billy's never seen a Funtastic Toothsparkler before. There are so many cool things he can do with it! But the big question is . . . will one of them be brushing his teeth? 

Keywords

AUTHOR BOOK WEEK CHILDREN CREATING CHARACTERS DRAWING HUMOUR ILLUSTRATOR INK DRAWINGS KS1 KS2 PICTURE BOOKS PLOT STORYBOARDING WORKSHOPS WORLD BOOK DAY